UK eGuide Kindle
Car hire

Cameroon Travel


Cameroon derives from the word come "camaraes" meaning "prawns" which were introduced by the Portuguese navigators.  Called Kamerun in German and Cameroun in French and named Cameroon by the British.


Cameroon is bounded in the west by the Gulf of Guinea and in the north-west by  Nigeria and in the east by Chad and in the south by the Central African Republic and the Republic of Congo, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

The climate is equatorial with high temperatures and a lot of rain from March to June and again from September to November.  Inland rain occurs at all seasons.

The unit of currency is the franc.

The Dja Faunal Reserve was made a UNESCO world Heritage site in 1987 and surrounded by the DJa River and is one of Africa's largest rainforests.

Cameroon is not a major tourist destination.

The Cameroon National Festival takes place on 20 May.

There are 45 airports and three international airports at Doualak, Garoua, and Yaounde.

back to top